Contact Groups

Contact groups define a collection of members who will be contacted for a given notification. Contact group members can be either email addresses or webhook URLs.

To manage your contact groups, select Alerting within the main menu and then click the Contact groups tab.

Contact Groups

Create a New Contact Group

To create a new contact group, click the New + button in the upper right corner of the main Contact groups page.

In the modal that appears, enter the desired name of your contact group and click the Create button.

You have now created a new contact group to which you can add one or more members.

Contact Group Actions

In addition to managing members within a contact group, you can also rename, duplicate and delete a contact group.

Rename a Contact Group

To rename a contact group, first click the name of the desired contact group from the main Contact groups list page. You can also click the pencil icon within the Actions column for the desired contact group.

Once on the Edit contact group page, click the Actions button and select Rename. Enter the new name within the modal that appears and then click Update.

Duplicate a Contact Group

To duplicate a contact group, first click the name of the desired contact group from the main Contact groups list page. You can also click the pencil icon within the Actions column for the desired contact group.

Once on the Edit contact group page, click the Actions button and select Duplicate. A modal will appear confirming your desire to duplicate the contact group. Click Duplicate to proceed with the action. Duplicated contact groups will retain all of the original group’s members. Additionally, they will automatically receive a suffixed name of the original contact group.

Delete a Contact Group

Contact groups can be deleted in one of two ways.

To delete a contact group from the Contact groups list page, click the trash can icon within the Actions column for the desired contact group.

You can also delete a contact group from the Edit contact group page by clicking Actions and then selecting Delete.

For either option, a modal will appear to confirm that you’d like to delete the contact group since this action cannot be undone.

Contact Group Members

Contact group members can be added to contact groups and deleted from them. They can also be edited.

Add a Contact Group Member

To add a contact group member, click the Add member button on the Edit contact group page.

In the modal that appears, enter the email address or webhook URL for the new member. Please note that webhook URLs must begin with either http:// or https://. Also, if the URL hook contains the query param ?format=json, then it will receive data formatted with JSON instead of query strings.

When you’re finished entering the new member, click the Add button.

Duplicate a Contact Group Member

To edit a contact group member from the Edit contact group page, click the pencil icon within the Actions column for the desired member.

When you are finished editing the member’s email address or webhook URL, click the Update button.

Delete a Contact Group Member

To delete a contact group member from the Edit contact group page, click the trash can icon within the Actions column for the desired member.

A modal will appear confirming that you’d like to delete the member since the action cannot be undone.